Call for Papers

27th International Conference on
Computer Aided Verification (CAV 2015)
July 18-24 2015, San Francisco, California

Aims and Scope

CAV 2015 is the 27th in a series dedicated to the advancement of the theory and practice of computer-aided formal analysis methods for hardware and software systems.  CAV considers it vital to continue spurring advances in hardware and software verification while expanding to new domains such as biological systems and computer security. The conference covers the spectrum from theoretical results to concrete applications, with an emphasis on practical verification tools and the algorithms and techniques that are needed for their implementation. The proceedings of the conference will be published in the Springer LNCS series. A selection of papers will be invited to a special issue of Formal Methods in System Design and the Journal of the ACM.

Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • Algorithms and tools for verifying models and implementations
  • Hardware verification techniques
  • Deductive, compositional, and abstraction techniques for verification
  • Program analysis and software verification
  • Verification methods for parallel and concurrent hardware/software systems
  • Testing and run-time analysis based on verification technology
  • Applications and case studies in verification
  • Decision procedures and solvers for verification
  • Mathematical and logical foundations of practical verification tools
  • Verification in industrial practice
  • Algorithms and tools for system synthesis
  • Hybrid systems and embedded systems verification
  • Verification techniques for security
  • Formal models and methods for biological systems

Paper Submission

Submissions should contain original research and sufficient detail to assess the merits and relevance of the contribution. We welcome papers on theory, case studies and comparisons with existing experimental research, tool papers, as well as combinations of new theory with experimental evaluation. Similar to last year, we welcome both long tool papers and short papers of any kind.

Tool papers should describe system and implementation aspects of a tool with a large (potential) user base (experiments not required, rehash of theory strongly discouraged). Papers describing tools that have already been presented (in any conference) will be accepted only if significant and clear enhancements to the tool are reported and implemented.

Submissions reporting on case studies in an industrial context are strongly invited, and should describe details, weaknesses, and strengths in sufficient depth. Papers reproducing and comparing existing results experimentally do not require new theoretical insights. Examples of contributions of such papers are evaluations of existing results in a superior experimental setting and comparisons of methods that have not previously been thoroughly experimentally compared.

Papers can be submitted in either a regular or a short format.

  • Regular Papers should not exceed 15 pages in LNCS format, not counting references.
  • Short Papers should not exceed 6 pages, not counting references. Short papers are encouraged for any subject that can be described within the page limit, and in particular for novel ideas without an extensive experimental evaluation. Accepted short papers will be accompanied by short presentations.

An appendix can provide additional material such as details on proofs or experiments. The appendix is not guaranteed to be read or taken into account by the reviewers and it should not contain information necessary for the understanding and the evaluation of the presented work. Papers will be accepted or rejected in the category in which they were submitted, there will be no “demotions” from a regular to a short paper.

Simultaneous submission to other conferences with proceedings or submission of material that has already been published elsewhere is not allowed.

The review process will include a feedback/rebuttal period where authors will have the option to respond to reviewer comments. The PC chairs may solicit further reviews after the rebuttal period.

Papers must be submitted in PDF format. Submission is done via EasyChair.


Deadlines are “anywhere on earth”

  • Abstract submission: January 30 2015
  • Paper submission (firm): February 6 2015
  • Author feedback/rebuttal period: March 23-26 2015
  • Notification of acceptance/rejection: April 17 2015
  • Final version due: May 22 2015


Daniel Kroening, University of Oxford, UK.
Corina Pasareanu, Carnegie Mellon Silicon Valley/NASA Ames, USA.

Program Committee

Aws Albarghouthi, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
Jade Alglave, University College London, UK
Domagoj Babic, Google, USA
Clark Barrett, New York University, USA
Armin Biere, Johannes Kepler University, Austria
Roderick Bloem, Graz University of Technology, Austria
Ahmed Bouajjani, LIAFA, University Paris Diderot, France
Marius Bozga, Verimag/CNRS, France
Aaron Bradley, Mentor Graphics, USA
David Brumley, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Tevfik Bultan, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
Krishnendu Chatterjee, Institute of Science and Technology (IST), Austria
Swarat Chaudhuri, Rice University, USA
Marsha Chechik, University of Toronto, Canada
Hana Chockler, King’s College London
Byron Cook, Microsoft Research, USA
Isil Dillig, University of Texas at Austin, USA
Dino Distefano, Facebook, UK
Alastair Donaldson, Imperial College London, UK
Azadeh Farzan, University of Toronto, Canada
Antonio Filieri, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Jasmin Fisher, Microsoft Research, UK
Indradeep Ghosh, Fujitsu Labs of America, USA
Patrice Godefroid, Microsoft Research, USA
Aarti Gupta, USA
Arie Gurfinkel, Software Engineering Institute, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Gerard Holzmann, NASA/JPL, USA
Warren Hunt, University of Texas at Austin, USA
Ranjit Jhala, University of California, San Diego, USA
Barbara Jobstmann, EPFL and Cadence Design Systems, Switzerland
Joost-Pieter Katoen, RWTH Aachen University, Germany/University of Twente, the Netherlands
Daniel Kroening, University of Oxford, UK (chair)
Marta Kwiatkowska, University of Oxford, UK
Akash Lal, Microsoft Research, India
Darko Marinov, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Ken McMillan, Microsoft Research, USA
Kedar Namjoshi, Bell Labs, USA
David Parker, University of Birmingham, UK
Corina Pasareanu, CMU/NASA Ames Research Center, USA (chair)
André Platzer, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Zvonimir Rakamaric, University of Utah, USA
Grigore Rosu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Philipp Ruemmer, Uppsala University, Sweden
Mooly Sagiv, Tel Aviv University, Israel
Sriram Sankaranarayanan, University of Colorado at Boulder, USA
Koushik Sen, University of California, Berkeley, USA
Natarajan Shankar, SRI International, USA
Natasha Sharygina, Universita’ della Svizzera Italiana, Switzerland
Sharon Shoham, Academic College of Tel-Aviv Yaffo, Israel
Nishant Sinha, IBM Research Labs, India
Fabio Somenzi, University of Colorado at Boulder, USA
Manu Sridharan, Samsung Research America, USA
Ofer Strichman, Technion, Israel
Zhendong Su, University of California, Davis, USA
Cesare Tinelli, The University of Iowa, USA
Emina Torlak, University of Washington, USA
Tayssir Touili, CNRS, LIPN, France
Thomas Wahl, Northeastern University, USA
Georg Weissenbacher, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Eran Yahav, Technion, Israel

Steering Committee

Michael Gordon, University of Cambridge, UK
Orna Grumberg, Technion, Israel
Aarti Gupta, USA
Kenneth McMillan, Microsoft, USA